Obsessions of a fine mind

I love facebook. You end up reading a lot. Once you read something  you cannot stay still. You end up digging ( another for googling) more and stumble on things that you won’t normally find. For instance this week a friend criticised RSS supremo Mohan Bhagwat’s for his comments on Mother Teresa. He shared an article that highlighted all goods things about Mother Teresa. Another posted a rebuttal with all bad things about Mother Teresa and shared an an article by Christopher Hitchens to make his claim. I read both. Very persuasive.  At the end of Hitchens article I found this very interesting quote by  George Orwell on Gandhi which said that saints should always be presumed guilty until proved innocent .My digging on this  quote took me to Project Gutenberg where I  discovered this treasure hive  of 50 essays that George Orwell wrote between 1931 to 1949 including one on Gandhi . Till this moment I had no idea that they exist. My encounters with George Orwell have  been limited to ” 1984″ and  ” Animal Farm”.  I have just finished  his reflections on  Gandhi. I was deeply touched when Orwell mentions that that even Gandhi’s worst enemies would admit that he was an interesting and unusual man who enriched the world simply by being alive. Now that would look good on anyone’s obituary.

Suddenly I desperately want something. I want to fly in a private plane. There must be something deeply enticing in a flight where the whole aircraft , pilot , stewardess and the whole paraphernalia is at your service.  How else you can  explain that even our beloved Anna Hazare has fallen for the lure of private plane.  Is Anna obsessed with private planes ? This can make into breaking news on some news channel. Somehow India TV comes to my mind. They are obsessed with breaking the news.

Talking about obsessions I feel that they are generally good for you unless you act on them.  Recently I have been obsessed with the idea of buying a second hand car. Truth be told, I don’t need one. I don’t even want want a car. What I want is a good deal  and it doesn’t matter in what the deal is about. I have spend fair amount of time searching for car deals on sites like Quikr and Olx. I’m looking for Skoda/Civic/Yeti under 40,000 kms.  However the trouble is that when I find one I don’t buy it. Somehow the rational side of the brain takes over.  At least now I can say that you don’t know what obsession is until you are obsessed.

American author F. Scott Fitzgerald once said that the test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposed ideas in the mind at the same time, and still retain the ability to function. For instance my finances are in a hopeless situation but I’m determined  to make them better. Few years back I would have jumped up to find the next big idea on the stock market which will make me rich. Few years later (and couple of lacs poorer in the process) better sense has prevailed. Now I leave the job of picking stocks to either mutual fund managers or the stock market. However I have this brilliant idea of picking every blue chip that is currently out of favour and hold it for 2-3 years.

So how do you fight  obsession. You pick another one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

