This Bachhus is not a Bacchu

Ise kahte hain nazar and akal ka dhoka ( translates to something like fooled by brain and eyes) .

Very recently I came across an advert in Delhi’s Hauz Khas Village. It said ” Bacchus academy of wine”. It talked about how they can teach you about wine and all that. So I took a picture.  And then I shouted in my typical Delhi swagger I said ” Now Bacche  ( Hindi for Kids) will teach us about how to drink wine- ha what a pathetic advert. Some other bystanders also joined me. And I thought wah, what a nice facebook post. Since I don’t have Facebook app on phone so I was not able to to post the picture immediately. Thank God for that because if I did  I would have made a fool of myself.

bacchus

A quick search on Google revealed that Bacchus is not Bacchu (Bacchu is a sweet generic name to call a toddler in the northern part of India). Bacchus  on the other hand is the Roman God of agriculture and wine. There is also a very famous painting of Bacchus by Italian Baroque master Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio (1571-1610). The model in the painting is offering wine He also has vine leaves tied to his hair. What is a bit unusual about the painting is that the model is offering wine from his left hand . This led a lot of people to speculate the Caravaggio stood besides a mirror and painted himself. You can read more about the painting here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bacchus_(Caravaggio).

bacchu

This whole incident with Bacchu and Bacchus reinforced my belief that the true wisdom is in knowing that you know nothing. And one can be saved by a Greek God.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

