Arianna Huffington: Thrive

I’m currently reading Arianna Huffington’s book called Thrive. For those who don’t know Arianna Huffington is one of the founder of Huffington post ( Huffingtonpost.com) widely recorded as one of the top liberal news site aggregator in the world. To be honest I purchased the book without knowing what it is going to be about. I wanted to learn from her experiences of setting up Huffington Post and see what I can apply to my own blog and most importantly to the blogs of the India Fellow program.

I’m done reading about 50 pages and the book is more about giving a new meaning to success in life and thereby creating happier and fulfilling lives.There is lot of talk of yoga, meditation and taking control of the technology in our lives. While I’m still to complete the book the first few pages made me take one important step which is to DELETE FACEBOOK APP FROM MY PHONE.

For the last few months facebook has totally consumed my life. I only read on my phone and only those articles that people share or which are syndicated by google news. I feel this is not healthy. I can be seen getting up in the middle of the night checking Facebook updates on my phone. I’m even reading things on the phone while I’m in the loo. All this means very few meaningful conversations at home or time read a book. I mean I don’t  remember when was the last time I read a book.

So facebook gone from my phone.And I also made a promise to myself that as soon as I enter home I will also disconnect data from my phone.  No data after 7.30 pm

When I was about 18 I used to dream about a day when I can afford to buy a book every month and read it. I somehow forgot that dream as work and life took centre stage.I believe now is the time to go back to that dream and I’m starting with Ariana Huffington’s Thrive.

One thought on “Arianna Huffington: Thrive

  1. This stands very true. There’s more digital conversation taking place nowadays rather than the other way round which leads to an individual getting lonelier. Research show that constantly checking FB leads Facebook Addiction Disorder (FAD).

Leave a Reply

