Wish me luck: Dreamathon, Swadee Kha, Day 1

[[posterous-content:pid___0]]

Swadee Kha, which is Hello in Thai…..

So today is the first day of my Dreamathon and I’m super excited. I have so far 10 confirmed guests including two kids coming for the meal. I have also changed the menu a bit to make sure that kids will have something to eat.

Okay first a correction.I earlier mentioned that I will be making Tom Yum soup. Now  my recent visit to Thailand has educated me that I have to qualify what kind of Tom yum I will be making.There are actually many kinds, chicken, fish, shrimp. Tom yum ka is Tom Yum soup with chicken. You can  get Tom yum with Shrimp ( tom yum goong) and Fish ( tom yum pla) as well. Chicken is easy to get in Delhi and so I’m going to stick with Chicken.The other thing that I have added in Menu is stir fried chicken with oyster sauce, garlic and basil. I hope I get basil somewhere in the vegetable market.This is for kids because rest of the things will have some chillies in them.Red curry is my all time favourite ( never mind that its tons of calories) and it will be on the menu as well

Rest of the things stay the same. I need to find some nice Kaccha Papaya and long beans as well for Papaya Salad. There is a long list of things that I have to buy which looks like this

  1. Chicken
  2. Red Chillies and Green one’s
  3. Aubergine- small and white if possible
  4. Beans, either long or regular ones
  5. Beer… regular one
  6. Lemonade
  7. Garlic
  8. Tomatoes
  9. Basil
  10. LemonGrass
  11. Mushroom

Even shopping for all this food will be fun. This is the first time cooking for 10 people in life and that too thai food.

So PEOPLE  wish me luck.

 

One thought on “Wish me luck: Dreamathon, Swadee Kha, Day 1

  1. Good luck!
    The menu is enticing! do you want to add sticky rice or banana pudding to it for dessert?
    Fresh basil is tough to get, and for the dry one check carefully..they are most often dried tulsi!
    Pls take pics and upload 🙂

Leave a Reply

